Village of Rye Brook

Home Menu

Keep up to date with the current news and information.

Back to Article List
FEMA Disaster Information
Release Date: November 05, 2012

President Obama this morning (Friday) declared Westchester a disaster area due to Hurricane Sandy, making the county eligible for federal aid, County Executive Robert P. Astorino announced.

The declaration means that individuals and governments may be eligible for help. Further information about aid for businesses will be announced shortly.

To qualify, individuals who have unreimbursed losses must first register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Individuals should do so in one of the following ways:

  • Apply via smart phone at
  • Call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.

"This is important information for all of those in our county who have been devastated by Sandy," said Astorino. "We will continue to share information as we get it. In  the meantime I urge people to register with FEMA."

On Thursday night, Astorino was part of a conference call with President Obama, Gov. Cuomo and other regional county executives where they shared information about Sandy and the cleanup.

Further information will be posted on as it becomes available.

©2018 Village of Rye Brook
View Full Website